Friday Fictioneers: BALL AND CHAIN

PHOTO PROMPT - © C. Hase

PHOTO PROMPT – © C. Hase

Ball and Chain
Avril stares at the open sea, fear in her soft green eyes. “You don’t get to decide this for me.”

We both know it’s a lie. I’ve decided everything since the day we met.

“I can’t swim.”

“I’ll tell you what to do.”

She purses her lips. I’m sure she’d curse me if it would do any good, but a curse is what got us here. I could kill the sea witch who did this to her.

“I’ll break it, I promise.” I wiggle my toes, the sand between them a distraction from the discomfort of Avril’s anger. “You have to trust me.”

She moves with me into the sea, and I wonder how I’ll die – breaking the curse or watching her walk away from her ball and chain.


Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. 

Read/Join Here:

5 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: BALL AND CHAIN

Leave a Reply

