Friday Fictioneers: THAT THING WE NEVER TALKED ABOUT

pleisiosaur_

PHOTO PROMPT © Douglas M. MacIlroy

That Thing We Never Talked About

I never wanted a dinosaur fish skeleton in my front yard. I would have gone for a welcome mat – red and turquoise flowers. Maybe a garden gnome.

I begged you to put it somewhere else, anywhere else, but you were so proud of the monstrosity. When you weren’t listening, I thanked God you’d forgotten about the leg lamp.

Somewhere around our 30th anniversary, I realized I’d named the thing. Never told you, of course. I couldn’t admit too much.

I grab a rusted flipper. My finger joints feel a little rusty themselves.

“It’s just you and me now, Edgar. You and me.”


For reference: THE LEG LAMP (On pain of a lamp shattered over your head, DO NOT share this link with my beloved husband!)


Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. 

Read/Join Here:

6 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: THAT THING WE NEVER TALKED ABOUT

  1. The leg lamp is pure pain, I do like the dino statue though. 😀 The story is lovely, full of memories, but also hidden resentments. I wonder what she’ll do with poor Edgar now…

  2. Dear Lisa,

    A multifaceted piece. Funny how something we hate, in the absence of the person who loved it, can become a comfort. Leg lamp? Now that makes me laugh and shout, “Fra-geelee!”

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

Leave a Reply

