Friday Fictioneers: The Gifted Child

IMG_1875

True story: One of my children spent a year – a year – trying to convince his friends that dragons are real. I’m not sure he succeeded, but this mama’s heart beat with mischievous pride when he held plastic dragons to the car window as we sped down the highway, using his iPod to capture photos of the magical beasts in flight. I thought of him as I wrote this, and of the sort of girl I hope he’ll someday convince to believe the wondrous with him.


FF_santoshwriter (1)

PHOTO PROMPT – © Santoshwriter

The Gifted Child

He slips his bare foot over the medicine dropper and holds the leaf out, his father’s grin beaming on his youthful face. “Fairy eggs.”

Ava tucks her strawberry blond hair behind her ear. “Those are not fairy eggs. Everyone knows fairies don’t lay-”

“Oh, yeah? Ever seen a pregnant fairy?” The kid has some logic, another gift from his father.

Ava bites her lip. I ought to warn her, but the kid’s got a bit of his mama in him, too.

She glances down as the tip of the medicine dropper peeks from between his toes. I’ve never seen so wry a smile on so angelic a face.

“When do they hatch?” she asks.


Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. 

Read/Join Here:

7 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: The Gifted Child

  1. I come from a family of cynics and engineers. I was born forty years old, so I missed out on faeries. A part (albeit a small part) of me regrets that.
    Good piece.

  2. And absolutely wonderful story, and I like the prologue re the existence of dragons. I hope he finds someone as whimsical as he is.

    I totally believe in fairies. My great-uncle convinced me as a child that some rocks he had were dinosaur eggs, and I kept waiting for them to hatch.

  3. Dear Lisa,

    “Ever see a pregnant fairy?” Great line. I love the sketch at the beginning. Did your son draw it?
    I agree with Alicia, there’s magic in this story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

Leave a Reply

