Friday Fictioneers: HEART ON FIRE

PHOTO PROMPT © Roger Bultot

PHOTO PROMPT © Roger Bultot

Heart On Fire

A spark of interest started it. Your presence warmed my heart, quickened its beat. Now you consume my mind. I’m utterly helpless, and you’re entirely cold.

It’s embarrassing, if I’m honest. Like everyone’s just watching as I go down in flames. Except you. You don’t even look my way.

I’m done with this. Calling in reinforcements. They’ve been through this before. Know how to put a fire out.

But wait. A flicker of light. Could it be?

Go home, everyone.

I’ll burn to the ground if only for a welcome glance, an open door, a moment in your good graces.


Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. 

Read/Join Here:

10 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: HEART ON FIRE

  1. Dear Lisa,

    When you’re hot, you’re hot. This was a great take on the prompt and a keen eyed look inside the mind of someone in love when that love is not being reciprocated. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

Leave a Reply

