Book Marketing Can Be Fun!—Right?—Maybe?

Today on the blog, Linh Nguyen-Ng, author of the newly released picture book MOMMY’S LITTLE WORDLINGS, talks marketing. Be sure to scroll down for information on Linh’s work and a Rafflecopter giveaway. Thanks, Linh, for stopping by!

Author Pic_Nguyenng_32315

Writing a complete book deserves celebration. Getting a book published is even more special. The publishing industry is complex. The process involves so many different people before the finished book is in your hands. (So, thank you to everyone at Anaiah Press!)

Even after the book’s birth, there are still important things to do. One of those things is the book marketing.  Book marketing can be fun, at least for me it is.

My book marketing plan started when I first finished the book. I had all these ideas planned—ideas that would take some time to accomplish. But sometimes due to deadlines and other circumstances that emerge, you have to narrow down to what is the most efficient and cost-effective way to promote your book.

Here is what I’m doing:

Bookmarks

I created the front cover of my bookmarks with similar artwork from my book cover. On the back side, I left it simple, just my contact information, a small artwork and some space for a signature. For those who do not want to sketch or don’t have time, you can get a JPG or PDF image of your cover to use for your bookmark. I don’t think you need to go overboard. Less is more, right?

What do you do with these awesome bookmarks that you just spent your life savings on?

  1. You give them away! Hahaha!—at book signings, at conferences, at libraries, hair salons, etc.
  2. Make sure you sign everything. (That’s what I was told.)
  3. People love bookmarks. Not only are they like book/author IDs, they’re also functional.

Postcards

I created postcards that reflected my book in some way. I designed an image similar to my book cover on the front. On the back is my contact information.  I left enough space for the address and a personalized message to whomever. (The postcard looks similar to my bookmark.)

Where do you send the postcards to?

  1. Independent bookstores that are around your region. Let them know your book is releasing and that you would be honored if they would consider your book for their stores.
  2. Schools, but make sure you have a contact name on it and not just the general school address. Otherwise it might be considered junk mail and end up in the trash.
  3. Any other organizations that might care about your book.

Giveaways

This was fun for me. I designed a cute image that I’m screen printing on T-shirts as giveaways. They can get expensive, so make sure you do your research on prices.

I wanted the T-shirts because my family/friends and the winners of the giveaways will be my adorable walking billboards. (Or you can choose to look adorable wearing it to bed.)

I heard swag bags are good. Add your swag and author friends’ swag into the bag. This way, you get to promote your book but also help out other authors too. If I have time, I will definitely do this.

Where will I be posting these giveaways? Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads and on my website.

Swag Tips:

Do not overspend. You’ll be tempted, but I suggest if you need more stuff, buy it later.

Most importantly, have fun! Marketing is supposed to be fun!

Bloggers, Thank you!

I want to say THANK YOU to all the Bloggers who are spotlighting me and my book.

Bloggers will always be your best source of pre-launch promotion and even after it launches.

Bloggers do what they do for FREE, for the love of books, and when one loves your book, they will champion it with their whole hearts.

From the bottom of my heart, thank you for the opportunity.

MLW_Bookcover_Front

Mommy’s Little Wordlings by Linh Nguyen-Ng

Adventures, Anaiah Press

Little words hold big meanings. The Little Wordlings are children who use their simple words to express their feelings for loved ones. No one is more adored than the first person who made them smile. No one is more cherished than the person who gave them life. There is no one like Mommy. Join the Little Wordlings as they show Mommy how much she is appreciated and loved.

Release Date: April 7, 2015

Book Links

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25221646-mommy-s-little-wordlings?from_search=true

Buy Links: 

Amazon: http://amzn.com/0990556247

Rafflecopter code (US entries only):

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Author Bio:

I live with my family in Massachusetts where I get to enjoy the four seasons. I love unique and interesting things—things that make a lasting impression. I am constantly looking for inspiration that I can use in my writing. Everything has a story to tell.

Website: http://www.linhnguyenng.com

Twitter: @linhnguyenng

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/lnguyenng

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/29730214-linh-nguyen-ng

Google: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/29730214-linh-nguyen-ng

Leave a Reply

