Friday Fictioneers: THE PROPER STEPS

Lauren Moscato

PHOTO PROMPT © Lauren Moscato

The Proper Steps

Maybe we didn’t take the proper steps, but what are the bricks and mortar of tradition when love gives you wings? That’s what you said when you picked me up in your old blue pickup.

I told you I’d be gone in the morning. Gone like all my girlhood dreams. Gone and never coming back.

I didn’t count on falling asleep first. I didn’t count on you tearing down the steps.

You’re a fool, you know. Never take the proper steps. Now you’ve taken the steps clean away, and you’re standing there with the same smile that gave me wings.


Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. 

Read or Join here:

11 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: THE PROPER STEPS

  1. I don’t know – I think she’s happy he’s done that. That smile that gave her wings must be something special. But I’m not sure – it’s an intriguing ending. Great language use in any case.

Leave a Reply

