Friday Fictioneers: STUPID SAUCE

STUPID SAUCE

“Triple X.” Zach’s eyes meet mine like it’s some kind of challenge.

The waitress turns to me, pen poised and eyebrows raised.

I have to ask. “Do you have anything hotter?”

Molly almost spits her water. “Nora! They call it ‘Stupid Sauce’ for a reason!”

Across the table, Zach smirks. It’s foolish, crazy, idiotic. It’ll probably burn me both coming and going, but I can’t let him win again. Now he’s sucking in a cheek, trying not to laugh at me. I’m all in.

I clap the menu shut and hand it to the waitress.

“Bring me the Stupid Sauce.”


Notes from behind the scenes: Sauce names come from a local hot wings restaurant. Stupid sauce is the one they don’t put on the menu because, as the name suggests, you’d have to be stupid to try it. Also, to give you a glimpse of the author’s personality, if I were in Nora’s seat, I would totally order a double helping of Stupid Sauce!


Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. 

Read or Join here:

13 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: STUPID SAUCE

  1. I’ve also heard of people doing this… I laughed when I tried to tie the story to the picture… at first I thought it was the criss-crossing of the crystals for the triple X, but on second thought, I think the spikiness would fit the burning going in and out. Stupid sauce and clever story, I like it.

  2. Oh this could be about my youngest son and his best friend, thought both are married now with families, they still like the challenge of who can eat the hottest…mad.

  3. We have an event here called Wingfest. It cost $5 to sample chicken wings from various restaurants. There’s one flavor where you have to wear a little plastic glove. It gave me hiccups and made my eyes water after the first bite. It’s a good thing I had some mild, teriyaki flavored ones to chase it with. I can definitely relate. Well done.

Leave a Reply

