Friday Fictioneers: Smiles and Blushes

Today’s story follows Questionable Ladies of Shallot. It should stand alone, but you might enjoy a little backstory. garden maze Smiles and Blushes

Whoever invited Zach to this shindig needs to be excommunicated.

He’s been all smiles and blushes and how-do-you-do since he pulled me out of the river, like he doesn’t know he’s supposed to fall in love with Molly.

He jogs to join me at the maze entrance. “Wanna race?”

“Only if one of us can get lost.” I’ll pummel him if he follows me into the maze, but he chooses the other entrance. Maybe if I sit down in the middle, he’ll leave without me, but I won’t lose to that pompous —

“Good run, Nora. We tied.” He extends his hand, all smiles and blushes and how-do-you-do.


Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. 

Read or Join here:

14 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Smiles and Blushes

  1. Lol, like the summery feel of this and the character you give to the narrator. I couldn’t make the link at the top work (could just be my internet, but you might want to double check it) but I definitely felt this story stood alone.

  2. I really think you have the knack for cutting to the moment with the story. I was surprised you repeated the ‘all smiles, blushes, and how-do-you-do’ when you only had 100 words to work with. But it still worked very well. You might want to check the “Ladies of Shallot” link. It wasn’t working when I tried it.

Leave a Reply

