Friday Fictioneers: Celia Aglow

PHOTO PROMPT - Copyright Ted Strutz

PHOTO PROMPT – Copyright Ted Strutz

Celia Aglow

Her father was a politician, but I never blamed her. He kept her hidden, locked in asylum after asylum. I bet her daddy would crap a brick if he could see his little darling now.

Darkness reigns across the nation, but here in our warehouse city, Celia presides in glowing light.

“How do you do it?” I whisper in her ear.

She glances at the frayed and disconnected wires, a wry smile on her lips. “Daddy and his kind never figured it out. You can’ t lock up light. It always finds a way to shine.”


Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. 

Read or Join here:

19 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Celia Aglow

  1. Love that first line – it tells us so much about the world and the characters right from the off – and this just keeps on building to the end. Definitely feels like the start of something good

  2. Lisa,
    I was surprised and happy to see a story of yours again and then I went back through your posts and wondered, how could I have missed so many of yours for so long? I’ve missed your writing, so I will try to catch up. I love this story. What a great, hopeful ending.
    -David

  3. Dear Lisa,

    This is you at your enigmatic best. It is exactly how I feel about your writing and your stories. I can’t say it any better or more economically than that so I’m stopping now. Love you.

    Aloha,

    Doug

Leave a Reply

