Friday Fictioneers: The Price I Pay

I don’t want to crowd Friday Fictioneers with non-Fictioneers stuff, so if you’re interested in some exciting news and an opportunity to help promote my first novel, please read THIS POST.

And now, back to our regularly schedule Fictioneering…
PHOTO PROMPT -Copyright-Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

PHOTO PROMPT -Copyright-Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The Price I Pay

My flawless face greets the masses proceeding down the boulevard. In pixelated form, I sing the praises of the one whose daily address they slaver to hear, repeating promises he’ll never keep. He’s played the same clip fifteen years, ever since I dared speak truth. It’s part of his punishment, to see myself so beautiful and stupid.

When his smooth voice fills their itching ears, his minion turns me to the mirror, to the bruised, emaciated, broken creature in chains.

Every story has a beginning, middle, end. Not mine. Mine’s one continuous loop – lies and truth, glory and desolation. Lies…


Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. 

Read or Join here:

9 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: The Price I Pay

    • Okay, so… Do you see the image of a woman on a sign/billboard thingy above the crowds toward the right side of the photo? It caught my eye and inspired the story.

      The idea is that long ago, the narrator was (probably) a well-known beauty and definitely an avid supporter of a man who turned out to be a dictator. In her younger, naive days, she made a little propaganda video hailing him as some sort of national savior. When she saw him for what he was and spoke against him, he promptly arrested her. In addition to physical maltreatment, he forces her to watch her former self delude the masses who come to hear his daily address – and then to look at her hideous reflection. Every day the same. One continuous loop, the price she paid for her disloyalty.

  1. I’m curious now. It sounds like some Hollywood thing or some kind of 1984 thing.
    Can you give me a little more on it? It’s well-written, I just don’t know what to make of it.

  2. I see there is quite a backstory to your flash. When I first read it, I just took as a common situation that many actresses may face in Hollywood, giving and sacrificing it all for the fame, but not necessarily happiness. What a multi-layered story you’ve created. Well done!

Leave a Reply

