Friday Fictioneers: Margot North’s Secret

It may be my present inclination to crawl into a hole and do nothing but hang out with my family and write (not at the same time), but a room full of instruments to play seemed like the perfect opportunity for a character to refuse to perform extraneous activities. So, meet Margot North…

Copyright-Rochelle Fields

PHOTO PROMPT Copyright-Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Margot North’s Secret

Margot North’s exquisite music fills the whole house, even this secluded wing.

“What are you doing here? I didn’t open this room to the public.” She’s even lovelier up close, her silk dress draped perfectly over every curve, than she is on stage.

I glance about the cluttered room, the piles of electric keyboards. “Do you practice on them?”

“Heavens, no! The piano’s my instrument. I wouldn’t dream of playing these.” Even in disgust, her face is radiant.

“Then why…”

“They remind me of all I’m not meant to do.” She almost smiles. “Someday, I may add a violin.”


Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. 

Read or Join here:

10 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Margot North’s Secret

  1. From Noah: I really liked how your story brings us into a room that Margot North doesn’t want us to see. It makes the room seem even more intriguing than the photo alone does.

  2. I stumbled a bit on this sentence, “She’s even lovelier up close, her silk dress draped perfectly over every curve, than she is on stage.” However, you absolutely floored me with the depth of character you conveyed in your last line. Excellent!

Leave a Reply

