Friday Fictioneers: One Square Ahead

©Tales_From_the_Motherland

Photo Copyright – Dawn Q. Landau

 

One Square Ahead

“How can you laugh?”

From the cloud of pillows, she studies me, her eyes bright. “Because I have to. It’s a game, see? I’ve been playing it since childhood.”

“A game? No. It’s your life, Celia.”

She waves a skeletal hand. “One square ahead of her, that’s all the distance I’ve needed. But she’s closing in, Eric, she’s closing in.”

“She?”

“Oh, dear. Don’t tell me you think Death’s that hooded fellow with a scythe…” That pout! “Mama called Death a red-gloved peasant woman, but you’re both wrong. She’s a curly-haired girl with sad blue eyes. It’s silly, but I call her Angelique.”


Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. 

Read or Join here:

5 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: One Square Ahead

  1. Quirky and charming. I hadn’t noticed the gloves until I read your take on this week’s FF installment. I was struck by the way you inserted a line instead of “She said” you put “That pout”. It made me stop and wonder who Eric is to her. Somehow, I thought Grandmother and Grandson. But that line changed it to lover or husband. Just two words.

Leave a Reply

