Friday Fictioneers: Taking Crete

Someday, after I’ve written myself fresh out of fantasy ideas, I may try my hand at a dystopian retelling of an old myth. Here’s a little teaser…

PHOTO PROMPT- Copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

PHOTO PROMPT- Copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Taking Crete (100 words)

My fellow passengers’ heads loll against windows and backs of seats as the plane flies over D.C. None of them would have boarded this flight without pharmaceutical encouragement.

“May I see your letter again?” A uniformed woman leans over the empty seat beside me. “Substitutions are unprecedented.”

A hard expression enters her dark eyes as she scans the Oval Office letterhead, but I’ve forged my father’s signature flawlessly for years. It passes inspection.

The others will be groggy at best when Stavros sets us loose, but I’ll experience every nanosecond of horror, desperation, and gore.

I’ve never felt so alive.


Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. 

Read or Join here: 


10 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Taking Crete

  1. Dear Lisa,

    I’m sorry to say that you broke Google. I’ll eagerly await further comments to figure out where the is story is supposed to be going. Please pardon my density. I’ll be back.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Doug,

      Thanks for reading. I just explained it better to Rochelle, but the basic idea is Crete conquered US, and now US has to send Minotaur food. Little does Mr. President know his black-sheep son has decided fighting the Minotaur is a better deal than being tucked out of the public eye.

  2. Dear Carrie,

    Does this mean that the gods are getting ready to wage war? All of my knowledge of mythology comes from Google. I’m curious to know who her father is.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Rochelle,

      Ah, the difficulties of getting everything into 100 words… It seems I didn’t do that well this week.

      Think Crete. Labyrinth. Minotaur. Now suppose Crete has conquered the United States, and the president must send seven boys and seven girls to feed Crete’s monster. Throw in Mr. President’s wild, black-sheep son who’s sick to death of posh detention centers and mental institutions, and you have my narrator forging his way onto the plane headed for Crete.

      Hope that helps!

      lisa

  3. A mysterious and intriguing story even without all the questions it raises. (The explanations did help, but I liked it even better without knowing the back story!)
    I like the sense of glee which accompanies your protagonist.

  4. Lisa, A creative and well-written story. I also needed the explanation, but then it made sense. Let’s hope he can defeat the Minotaur and save himself and his fellow passengers. 🙂 —Susan

Leave a Reply

