Friday Fictioneers: No One is to Blame

PHOTO PROMPT - Copyright - Adam Ickes

No One is to Blame

“Not your fault.”

“I know it’s not my fault.” I glare at Ramsey, so cozy in his corner. His stomach won’t go empty for lack of income.

“Maa. You don’t mean to pin this on me?” He chews that strand of hay like he might actually make progress on it after all these years.

“They fired me, Ramsey. F-I-R-E-D.” I drop a notepad into my box of personal effects. “Because I talk to a disembodied goat.”

“Whoa,” he says as I turn to go. “You’re leaving me?”

I want to. Lord, I want to.

“No… Not your fault, either.”

 


Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Read or Join here:

12 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: No One is to Blame

  1. Dear Lisa,

    A little Calvin and Hobbes-ish I think. I’d be a little weirded out by someone who talks to a disembodied goat head, too. Perhaps she needs to get out more. 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Despite the narrator’s current unemployment, she and Ramsey really do have a good working relationship. I imagine it isn’t either of their faults Ramsey’s in his current shape.

  2. Some places of business really don’t appreciate the creative process.

    I loved the movie Harvey, the TV series Topper, and other story lines like yours that run along the twist of invisible or unheard friends – and you have done a great job slipping right into that genre. Congrats. Randy

Leave a Reply

