Friday Fictioneers: Don’t Let Me Fall

So every now and then, I play around with a little (clean) contemporary romance story – which I’ll likely never write in full, because, well… I just probably won’t. But today’s photo prompt fit it quite well, with a few minor adjustments. Hope you enjoy!

PHOTO PROMPT Copyright-Madison Woods

PHOTO PROMPT Copyright-Madison Woods


Don’t Let Me Fall (YA Contemporary Romance, 110 words

Natalie pops her gum. “Chicken.”

“I’m not chicken.” But I’m dizzy just looking up into the branches.

“You don’t have to do it, Becky.” Julia’s kindness doesn’t help.

“Of course you don’t have to.” Natalie rolls her eyes. “But we’ll all know you’re chicken if you don’t.”

The bark is rough against my hand, but I grab a branch, find a foothold, and close my eyes. When the branches grow too thin to support me, I dare look down. Danny stands where Julia and Natalie had been.

“What’s the matter, Becks?” He smiles like he knows all about me. “Nat finally get your goat?”

“Shut up and help me down.”


Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Read or Join here:

15 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Don’t Let Me Fall

Leave a Reply

