Friday Fictioneers – The Wall Between Us

I borrowed a few words from my last 83 word Friday Fictioneers piece. Coming in at 115, this week’s entry evens the score. Or whatever. I went over. That’s really not newsworthy.

Anyway, I thought I owed our old friends Dan and Sara a few extra words. Hope you all enjoy!

PHOTO PROMPT  Copyright -Mary Shipman

PHOTO PROMPT
Copyright -Mary Shipman

 

The Wall Between Us

“It’s broken.”

“It’s not as bad as it looks, Sara. A little plaster, a little paint. No one will know.”

“I’ll know. We’ll know.”

He sighs, and I know he doesn’t see what I see. Or he does, but wishes he could make it better so easily.

“Sara, it’s just a wall. We can patch it up. No one even comes in here.”

“It’s not a wall.” I cannot stop the words any more than I can stop the tears. “It’s us, Daniel, you and me, and you can’t patch that up.”

“Do you mean…?” He can’t even finish the question.

“I mean we’re going to have to tear it down and start from scratch.”


Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Read or Join here:

10 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Wall Between Us

  1. Ooops. sounds like a bit of soul searching is about to be undertaken. In these few words I found I had a clear understanding of both personalities. Well done.

Leave a Reply

