Friday Fictioneers: Elinor Angel

PHOTO PROMPT Copyright - Erin Leary

PHOTO PROMPT Copyright – Erin Leary

Elinor Angel (83 words)

Elinor balances on the fence, her dress swishing with each gentle step. Out of the mist she dances, like an angel of the fields.

I stand on the bottom rail, a coward in all his glory. As her fingertips brush against mine, I search for words to join our worlds. “Hello,” is all my fool self finds, and Elinor passes by.

Elinor balances on the fence, her dress swishing with each gentle step. Into the mist she dances, my angel of the fields.

 


Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Read or Join here:

20 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Elinor Angel

  1. Dear Lisa,

    I love the mystery, the rhythm, the voice of this piece. I used to walk on the top rail of every fence I could find in our neighborhood and I found myself back there as I read of your angel of the fields and tried to feel Elinor’s story. Thanks.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • I’m glad you caught that. I think they did make a connection. In some small way, by touching his fingertips, she is no longer “an angel of the fields,” but “MY angel of the fields.”

  2. Hey… that’s pretty good… after I read this out loud, I looked at the photo again and I could see Elinor retreating into the woods. It’s a good thing the narrator did not meet Angelique.

  3. Dear Lisa,

    I love the name Elinor. The rhythm and feel of this is sweet. I love the subtle way the opening and ending lines differ. One word changes her direction. Well written, nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

Leave a Reply

