Friday Fictioneers: Something Fishy at Potter Bay

And now for something entirely different and not at all serious…

Copyright -B. W. Beacham

Photo Copyright: B. W. Beacham

 

Something Fishy at Potter Bay  (Mashup Retelling of Questionable Repute)

“It’s the darnedest thing, Chief, and not the worst part of the job, if I may say so.”

“Another naked woman wash up?”

“Third one this month.”

“Take her in, get her some clothes, and for the love of Pete, don’t invite her to dinner.”


Margo flapped her tail. “Remember, Bay 9 ¾. Swim with your might straight onto the beach, and you’ll be walking pretty.”

Carolina gripped the shopping cart handle and gulped. “Thanks, Mom. I’ll see you at the holidays.”

“Here’s a sweater dress, love. Keep focused on your studies. Many a mermaid’s sacrificed her education for a man.”

 


Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Read or Join here:

19 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Something Fishy at Potter Bay

  1. I’m feeling particularly dense this afternoon, as I completely missed the Harry Potter reference. Thank goodness I read Bjorn’s comment. Don’t worry, it just me trying to read one more story too quickly before getting back to house cleaning. 🙂

    janet

  2. Reminded me of the old cannibal joke where he told his wife, “I hate my mother in-law.” And his wife said, “OK, then just eat the vegetables.” Good stories.

  3. Dear Lisa,

    I never saw nor read Harry Potter so any reference is lost on me. However your stories weren’t. I love mermaids. I fancy myself one you know. 😉

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. Makes you wonder how many people walking around are actually mermaids who fell in love and never went back.. 🙂 Humorous story and a creative take on the prompt. Well done. 🙂

    Susan

  5. Don’t hang your head. I’m glad you wrote this one. It’s a fun mashup and much better than the majority of fan ficts out there.

    I did wonder why you chose to put the conversation between the humans before the part about Bay 9 and 3/4. I would have set the entrance of the mermaid prior to the humans finding her, just to avoid potential confusion to readers. JMHO, however.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    • Thanks for the comment. I, too, wondered if the underwater scene should come first, but decided this is an ongoing concern at Potter Bay, and putting the underwater scene last might carry the joke a little further. Thankfully, I have no intention of turning this into a full-length novel, though I do have a little mermaid story in the back of my mind… 😉

Leave a Reply

