Friday Fictioneers: The Stuff of Which We’re Made

It’s been a busy few weeks – with our homeschool year wrapping up and pitch contests and manuscripts being written (or stared at in consternation) and just life in general – but I’m here this week with a short piece for Friday Fictioneers. I didn’t make it to the 100 word mark, but I’m used to the wet noodle after all the times I went over 100 words, and sometimes, simplicity is best. I’ll read as many entries as my schedule allows, and thank each of you for stopping by and saying “hello.” Be sure to check out the link at the bottom of this page for more 100(ish) word stories, and if the photo inspires you, please do join the fun!

Copyright - Renee HeathPHOTO PROMPT – Copyright – Renee Heath

The Stuff of Which We’re Made (87 words, Women’s Fiction?)

It’s over.

The flame drowns in the waxen pool, its last flicker a gasp for breath.

As oxygen cascades into my lungs, I envy the flame its rest.

A drop of liquid solidifies on the end of a waxen stalactite hanging from the side of the desk. I break the stream of wax, still warm, and squeeze it into a ball.

The flame is gone. My flame is gone. But I am here. And I am made of brighter stuff than fire and harder stuff than wax.

 

***************************

P.S. If you’re curious to learn a little more about the writing project closest to my heart, feel free to check out my previous post. Just bear in mind that the short pitch is my nemesis and judge me not too harshly! Or do judge. It’s okay. I’m a big girl.

***************************

Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Read or Join here:

16 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: The Stuff of Which We’re Made

  1. I really love the vocabulary you use here. This is a very eloquent piece and a reminder to me that I need to put more effort into varying my word choices.

  2. I agree with Sandra–nice, strong, uplifting ending. As far as the word limit, you don’t have to get to 100. 🙂 Congratulations on the end of another year of home schooling. We home schooled both our girls through high school, so I can identify.

    janet

Leave a Reply

