Friday Fictioneers – Family Reunion

Before sharing this week’s story, I must give a nod to Rick Riordan, whose work my children and I have enjoyed immensely. If you haven’t read any of his books, well… you should.

Copyright -Claire Fuller

Photo Copyright -Claire Fuller

Family Reunion

“I can’t go in.”

I clench my fists, cursing the warmth that even now tingles in my fingertips.

“It’s okay.”

He means to be reassuring, but I can’t forget all I’ve done or that I have no power over my own hands. I shake my head and glance at the sign above the workshop. He smiles, and the warmth in my fingertips spreads up my arms and into my chest. Prying open my fist, he takes my hand and leads me in.

“Fireballs stop when your hands are busy,” he says. “That’s how it is with all of Hephaestus’s children.”

***************************

Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Read or Join here:

16 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Family Reunion

  1. HA! A sort of Greek version of “Idle hands are the devil’s playthings!” Lovely!
    I’m not writing this week, but I’d love it if you’d drop by my blog for a second anyway, I posted a big announcement today

Leave a Reply

