Friday Fictioneers – No Trespassing

This week is all about Pitch Wars and pretending that NaNoWriMo didn’t get overtaken by Thanksgiving festivities and that I’ll get some mad writing done between Christmas programs, recitals, shopping, and company, to say nothing of the daily business of educating and caring for my four children. But enough almost whining.. 🙂

The point I was getting to is that I was elated to find such a wonderfully inspiring photo prompt this morning. I knew immediately what to do with it – which may mean I’ve been dreadfully unoriginal, but that won’t stop me from spending the quieter moments of my day wondering what happens next. That’s the fun part of writing, always asking oneself, “What comes next?” Copyright -Randy Mazie

Photo Copyright –Randy Mazie

No Trespassing

Her eyes peered from between the bars, wide and frightened. Ignoring the spray-painted warnings against trespassing, I approached slowly, not wishing to frighten the poor child. How had she ended up in this God-forsaken place? Her tiny hands gripped the bars as I drew closer.

“Stay back.” Her voice was hoarse, as if she’d not had a drop to drink in days.

“It’s okay,” I whispered. “I’m here to help.”

Her eyes widened and, as the barbed vines wrapped around my torso, piercing my skin and pinning my arms to my sides, her muted, raspy scream filled my ears like a violent wind.

***************************

Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Read or Join here:

18 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – No Trespassing

  1. Very powerful. It makes me wonder what will happen next and if this person will be able to somehow rescue her. I just heard about Pitch Wars and it seems to be wrapping up! What’s your Twitter handle? I just joined and will look for you there so that we can attack pitch wars together next time around.

Leave a Reply

