Friday Fictioneers – Triple Inspiration

Just when I felt awful about not getting much out of the photo prompts of late, this lovely photo by Renee Heath comes along and POW! One story leads to another, and I ended up with three pieces. The second two are closely related. When I noticed the statue under the Boost Mobile sign, I simply couldn’t resist a little dual point of view…

copyright-Renee HeathPhoto Copyright -Renee Heath

Stuck (100 words)

She pirouetted, her skirt flowing out from her body like a web in the wind till it brushed against his passing arm. As he did each morning, he brushed away its fragile essence and continued on. Frantic, she twirled again and again, hoping against hope that he would see her, feel her, sense her, that he would turn, touch her, and save her. All but his face blurred with her movement, but still he stood. When the light changed, he crossed the street, deaf to her cries. She sank into her concrete prison and prayed tomorrow would bring her freedom.

The Lonely Dancer (100 words)

In the old days, he loved to watch me dance. Even now, I dance for him each day. Though passersby gawk, though they strike my feet with coins and trip me with sweaty, wadded up bills, I dance. I dance as though tomorrow may never come.

When the sun fades, my limbs grow heavy. Flesh turns to bronze, and I am frozen till morning dawns anew. By the rising silver moon, I watch him melt into flesh. I weep in my soul as he mourns my impassive figure. I wonder if he sees me dancing in the light of day.

And He Awakens (100 words)

Morning comes, and you’re dancing again. My muse, my love, my Genevieve, what magic has been done? I watch you through the day, follow each mad, elegant move you make, long to applaud you as I did before…

Now night descends. My muscles groan and flex, and I bid thee well. I mourn but a moment before leaving you, graceful even in bronze. In the moonlit alleys of this wretched city, I seek the one who can exchange our pitiful existence for one of joy. I swear to remain eternally transfixed, but not like this. No, love, not like this.

*For a little musical tie-in, see Dance Me to the End of Love by Leonard Cohen. And for a little more fun, find the little play(s) on words in And He Awakens. 🙂

********

Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Read or Join here:

29 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Triple Inspiration

  1. Dear Lisa,

    In all honesty, I’m hard pressed to choose a favorite of these three. They’re all good and I love the different points of view. Each are unique and yet joined together. I really enjoyed them. Nice writing, Ma’am.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Thanks, Rochelle. I didn’t plan for the first to be connected to the others – the idea being in that story, the dancer was a solitary figure doomed to invisibility until love rescued her. For the other two, I was thinking more along the lines of two lovers under some sort of curse that turns one into a statue by day and the other by night. Anyhow, I’m glad you enjoyed them!

  2. All three are beautiful, but I’m in a romantic mood these days, so liked the pair the best. I’m struggling for something critical to say, but I’ll settle for a slight discomfort from the repetition of “though” in the middle piece. The first two work as an echo, but the third is one too many for me, personally!

  3. Renee, from the depths of a Billings Starbucks, I’ve read your trilogy and enjoyed them all. I like the switch in points of view, although you get a whipping from the wet noodle for going over the 100 words and not even being ashamed of it. 🙂 The first one is my favorite. I just like the flow of it. In the last one, I’m not caught by the narrator, not sure why. Maybe the “bid thee well” makes him seem a little pretentious/pompous to me. That’s probably just me, but…

    janet

    • Shoot. Once again, I didn’t make it clear that the copyright went with the photo. If I had, you likely would have realized that the author of this trilogy was not Renee, but Lisa, whom you all have by now realized is impervious to the “Limit Exceeded” wet noodle. 🙂 (And in my defense, each story was EXACTLY 100 words, by Microsoft Word’s word count).

      As for the voice of the narrator in #3… He might not have said, “Bid thee well,” had he been frozen where he was. He might also not have thought to look for someone who could “exchange” his circumstances for something better. 😉 Maybe he is pretentious, but maybe he’s the pitiable victim of an author who couldn’t resist playing with words… 😉

      • Abject apologies, Lisa, for the name confusion. When I got off the site, I thought, “Wait a minute, that wasn’t Renee’s site”, but my slow connection would allow me to get back on to correct it. I’m beating myself with the wet noodle and crave your forgiveness.

        Speaking of the wet noodle, it was, of course, meant in the best of spirits. “Bid thee well” plays on the Bidwell Building, although I don’t know if that’s how you meant it. At any rate, good job on the stories. I put down my mistake to the lower oxygen levels at 7,000′. 🙂

        janet

        • No worries on the name confusion, Janet. It’s happened before, when “Copyright So-and-So” was closer to the story than the photo.

          Yes, the Bidwell Exchange was the inspiration for the narrator’s words. Cheesy, but hey… sometimes I can’t stop myself. 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Doug. I have been writing – pecking away at my fantasy trilogy plus getting a couple chapters of Angelique under my belt. It’s been a slow process, but words are coming. The photo prompts have been a little harder to keep up with in recent months. Now that Angelique’s story is mapped out in my mind, I have to come up with new characters and stories for each Friday Fictioneers piece. I’m still writing, though. Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

