Friday Fictioneers – Solid Ground

This week’s photo prompt perfectly matched a little something I’d written some time ago. Originally, this piece was to be part of an insufferably cheesy novel that I have since all but given up, but after getting to know Dan and Sara, I can hear these words flowing from Sara’s mouth as she determines not to give up on Dan, who very much deserves to go the way of that cheesy novel I just mentioned…

Copyright - Douglas M. MacIlroy

Copyright – Douglas M. MacIlroy

Solid Ground

I once believed love was like living on clouds – light, airy, ethereal. Maybe for some it is that.  But how under celebrated is that love that disperses clouds, sets one’s feet on solid ground, compels one forward with quiet grace and confidence.

Indeed, life is not a matter of soaring through clouds, but of walking this raw, lowly earth. This is the love I celebrate, the love upon which I must depend if we are to weather this quaking in our souls. I cannot count on clouds. Solid ground is what I need, what I have, what I offer you.

****************************

Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Read or Join here:

21 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Solid Ground

  1. Lovely, and with powerful wisdom woven in. I was moved by this piece and found myself nodding in the end. Good work.
    ~Christopher

  2. how under celebrated is that love that disperses clouds, sets one’s feet on solid ground, compels one forward with quiet grace and confidence Wonderfully written!

  3. Beautiful writing – soul level. I am trying to ‘like’ it but not allowing me to do that at this time.
    Really enjoyed your message – true as it is and descriptions;
    Indeed, life is not a matter of soaring through clouds, but of walking this raw, lowly earth.

Leave a Reply

