Friday Fictioneers – Some Tragedies

I was sad to miss last week’s Friday Fictioneers, especially since the photo virtually screamed for Basil Thistlethorn, but the truth is… I’m tired. Not bad tired. Just have-a-lot-going-on tired.

This week’s photo, however, is one I could not resist, as it is just the image I had imagined to go with a scene I’ve been thinking of for months. It is quite possible that it will make no sense whatsoever to those of you not familiar with Angelique and her mentors. For better or worse, I’m okay with that. (See previous paragraph’s confession of weariness).

Also, I’m not sure if that’s a bus or some kind of emergency vehicle. For the purpose of my story, I kind of made it both…

copyright - Indira

copyright – Indira by way of Scott Vanatter

Some Tragedies (99 words)

The bus careened into the drive, balanced on two wheels, and came to a screeching halt in front of Claire’s tidy cabin. On the porch, Angelique stepped closer to Claire.

“Oh.” Claire set her coffee cup on the porch rail. “This cannot be good.”

Gabe opened the passenger door.

“Get in! You too, Angelique!”

Angelique rushed after Claire and took a seat behind Gabe. As he sped onto the road, she turned to study the other passengers. They were ushers, too, she knew without asking.

“Some tragedies, Angelique,” Gabe called over his shoulder. “Require all the strength we have.”

******************************************

Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Read or Join here:

30 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Some Tragedies

  1. I love the way you describe the bus pulling up. Vividly written. I’m not sure I understand what an usher is. Is it like an angel? (Sorry, I can be a little dense sometimes)

    • Thanks. With taking a break from homeschooling, waiting for in-laws to move to town, waiting to hear back on my manuscript, and a few other things, you might say I’m in a waiting funk. Which is kind of funny, given my blog title/screen name… 😉

        • Thanks. I’m trying not to check my email every five minutes. 😉 We’re just moving into 6th grade with my oldest. It’s scary and exciting all at the same time. I’m waiting for curriculum, too, which is like a mini-Christmas around here. (Until they realize they actually have to sit and do the work when they’d rather play Lego…) 😉

    • Thanks! If you’re interested in reading more, much of Angelique’s story can be found under the Angelique tab at the top of the page. I tried to post all her pieces there, but may have missed a couple.

  2. Nice to see Angelique back again. I’ve missed her. And this sounds very ominous, almost like the services of a heavenly A team are required. Well done.

  3. Dear Lisa,

    I understand the weariness. I took a two month break and now return week to week if the muse cooperates.

    I am very happy to see you back and more so because you wrote another instalment of Angelique’s story.

    Aloha

    Doug)

Leave a Reply

