Friday Fictioneers – Basil Thistlethorn Goes Left

After a week away, I am pleased to return to Friday Fictioneers. This week’s photo comes from Danny Bowman. I must also credit Brian Benoit, who suggested I write a story from “the left side of the third floor” of The House of Several Genres.

Copyright - Danny Bowman

Copyright – Danny Bowman

Basil Thistlethorn Goes Left

Basil Thistlethorn, aged 10, with grass stains on his trousers and dirt beneath his fingernails, lifted the receiver to stop the ringing.

“Hullo?”

“Basil. Just the boy I wanted.” The voice on the other end was smooth, like the top of his favorite pudding before Mummy spooned it into his bowl. “We need another villain. If you are clever enough, find me, August Templetorn, in the building directly facing your playground. Third floor. And Basil… If you wish to taste your mother’s pudding again, do stay to the left.”

Basil dropped the phone and very carefully placed his left foot in front of his right.

****************************

Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Read or Join here:



28 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Basil Thistlethorn Goes Left

    • I may have to spend more time with Basil Thistlethorn… Right now, my thoughts are too occupied with other projects to figure out his future, but I love the idea of writing from an aspiring villian’s point of view. Glad you enjoyed!

  1. This is great. I commend you on your writing style. Your fiction, in just a few words is intriguing, carrying the reader forward with much anticipation for the next line, nicely done! 🙂

  2. Oooh I do like this! Rather like Mummy’s pudding…”Please, can I have some more?”
    You have to continue this further. It reminds me of Enid Blyton’s “The Mystery of…” series, with Fatty (Frederick (Algernon (Trotteville.

    • Thank you! I’m currently working on a YA Fantasy trilogy, after which I hope to turn my Angelique Friday Fictioneer pieces into a sweet little paranormal novel. I’m also toying with a few other story ideas. Basil Thistlethorn has joined a rather long list, I’m both afraid and happy to say! 🙂

  3. I liked the description of Basil. I could picture him and the fact that he answered the phone because it was ringing rang true (pun sort of intended HA!) I see him as a budding Henry in Goodfellas!

  4. The pudding metaphor was perfect. Basil might be a villain in the making, but the fond thought about pudding and his mother takes us back to the excitement and mystery of childhood.

  5. Love the description ‘… like the top of his favorite pudding…’ August’s voice displays his strong character really well – not someone to be crossed.

Leave a Reply

