Friday Fictioneers – Double Header

The votes are in from The House of Several Genres. The basement beat out the ground floor by a mere two points, so… because I love you all so much, we’re visiting both floors. 🙂

Enjoy, and be sure to check out other Friday Fictioneers’ stories by clicking on the blue froggy guy at the end!

Copyright-Ted Strutz

Copyright-Ted Strutz

When Art Intimidates Life (100 words, Horror)

I’ve checked the locks a thousand times, always keeping one eye on the painting. Any minute now, one of Gus’s little monsters, so pretty on canvas, will lift itself from art to life. I check the back exit again. Locked from outside, I cannot escape. Neither can they. The world is safe tonight. If only I might be also.

I hear her first, sharp breath and turn. Another gray shape marks where lively color once existed. She stands behind the bar, still adjusting to our three-dimensional world.

“No more playing nicely,” she purrs.

Thirteen wine bottles hurtle toward my head.

 

 

Not an Act of Golden Courage* (100 words, Romance)

We’ve been coming here two years now, separately since the Tyler incident. He sits at the counter, I at a booth. I deserve my banishment.

He’s wearing a uniform today. When did he enlist?

I hold up my book, so he will not see the tears forming as he passes by. The table jostles, his fingers curl over the top of the page, and a scrap of paper flutters to the table.

“When you finish your book, write and tell me how you liked it.” His finger catches my falling tear. “Morning in Antibes always makes me cry, too, Lily.

 

*Title taken from Morning in Antibes, page 223. “I had come for her,” John Knowles’s main character says of his unfaithful wife. “I had not gone away. I had come for her. Not an act of golden courage, not like giving up your life for what lies deeply in your heart, but just a short but definite and irrevocable step. Since I had never walked that way in my life, the first step could only be a short one.”

*******

Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Read or Join here:



21 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Double Header

    • Thank you. It felt a little weird writing each of them. The first, I’m not sure if it’s really all that horrific. The second, well… romantic scenes can be awkward. Relying on a favorite book helped. 🙂

  1. You’ve done a wonderful job in both the genres. Kudos! And special mention for the definition of the noun Friday Fictioneers! 😀 😀 😀

  2. Like them both. Like the horror one, Is it a curse, or a noble sacrifice? One nitpick: I’d say, “No more playing nice.” instead of “nicely.”

  3. I want to be able to give you double likes this week but WordPress doesn’t support that option. Some of us have a hard enough time coming up with one tale, and you came up with two that were completely different. My favorite is the second though. Very sweet and romantic piece of writing.

  4. I like both of them also. The first is so menacing and I could see all the wine bottles coming at her like a three dimensional horror movie. The part in the second with the tear is heart grabbing. You did such a fabulous job changing to the other genre.

  5. Well I know it would scare the crap out of me if someone (or thing) threw 13 bottles at me! but the second one was sweet and sad, with a bit of hope thrown in. Nicely done on both!

  6. Always love a ‘twofer’… especially when you write them, Lisa. Clever concept on the first… liked lift itself from art to life, and the ‘adjustment’. I really liked your second story.

Leave a Reply

