Friday Fictioneers – Riding Penn

Sandra CrookCopyright – Sandra Crook

Riding Penn(100 words)

“What, pray tell, am I supposed to do with it?”

“You ride Penn wherever she takes you.”

“It looks like some kind of medieval torture device.”

“She won’t bite. Well, she might, but you won’t mind.”

“How’s it work?”

“Magic.”

“Magic?” I forgot I wasn’t supposed to arch my eyebrow at stupid people. “Seriously.”

“Seriously. Hop on.”

I grumbled as I maneuvered around the gears and belts. Situating myself in the rusty seat, I grasped the goat-horn handles. Energy surged through me into the contraption.

“Whoa!” I shouted, but no one heard.

Penn and I, we’d left the world behind.

****

Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Read or Join here:


37 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Riding Penn

  1. What an appropriate story for those of us who take flight on Penn (or by pen) every week. Clever metaphor. Writing, and reading that writing, certainly can help us leave the world behind!

    janet

  2. According to my wife my biggest sin is the “rolling of my eyes”. Sometimes we react before we think just like the arching of the eyebrow you mention. The mind is quicker than the body.

  3. I hadn’t even noticed the goat horn handles! This bike is sparking magic all over!
    Alastair came up with the name Beastbike. But being that I am from Pennsylvania…I kinda like Penn too.

    Thanks for your visit.

  4. ‘I forgot I wasn’t supposed to arch my eyebrow at stupid people’ – that is such a great line. I really enjoyed this, and the idea of the rider being one with machine.

Leave a Reply

