Friday Fictioneers – For Better or Worse

Welcome back to the (pre) Friday Fictioneers! (Or maybe the Friendsday Fictioneers?) Today’s photo prompt comes from Beth Carter and takes my character Sara back in time, to a day when she and her new husband Dan encountered a man named Gabe with a car that’s a far cry from the chariots and Porsches of which he is so fond.

You’ve met Sara in the following previous stories:

Impossible Salvation

Not What We Had Planned

Another Kind of Death

You can catch Dan hustling through His Last Ride.

 

 

Copyright - Beth Carter

Copyright – Beth Carter

For Better or Worse (100 words)

I saw this car at a flea market once – two old shopping carts welded together with a rusty piece of metal for an armrest, cupholders and all. On the passenger seat was a cardboard sign, “Sure it runs! 69,000 miles!”

It was built in 2006, the year we met, and it was beautiful in its way. The owner – Gabe, I think – would have sold it to us, but Dan just laughed. “Heap of trash.”

But it’s us, you see, me and Dan. Ugly and rusted and looking like hell, but we’ve got more than 69,000 miles to go.

********

Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Read or Join here:


25 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – For Better or Worse

  1. “But it’s us, you see, me and Dan. Ugly and rusted and looking like hell, but we’ve got more than 69,000 miles to go.”
    But is it as ‘comfortable’ as you and Dan…!?!
    I enjoyed that…! 😉

  2. Dear Lisa,
    Your story has me smiling. Nice to know they have more than 69,000 miles to go together. Says they’ve weathered storms of life and still hold hands in the movies. (My imagination from experience ;)) Well written, my dear.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  3. I loved the way you wove the details from the picture into the story. And I appreciated the sentiment, too, though personally I’m not sure I would ever admit to ‘looking like hell’ (my other half will probably take the fifth there).

Leave a Reply

