Friday Fictioneers – On Angel Wings

This week’s story fits squarely between His Last Ride and The Next Assignment. I didn’t exactly incorporate the photo, but went more figuratively. For reasons you will probably understand after reading the story, the plane and the sun together made me think of Claire… strong, warm, powerful, and good.copyright-Rich Voza

copyright-Rich Voza

On Angel Wings (113)

In the instant her hand had touched his chest, she had known it would be different.

Now, high above the cordoned bus station, Angelique fought with every beat of her snow-white wings to free herself from him. All his fear, guilt, shame, and hatred mingled with Angelique’s own sorrow over what might have been. She writhed against the pain within and without as the frigid wind swirled around her tiny form.

Claire’s smooth, pure voice rose above the thunder in Angelique’s ears.

“Be still, child.”

A golden wing, strong and warm as the midday sun, enveloped Angelique. She collapsed, her head against Claire’s chest.

“Steve,” Angelique whispered. “The fat man’s name was Steve.”

 

For the rest of the story click on Angelique.

Friday Fictioneers (n): A world-wide community of writers addicted to writing 100 word stories based on a photo prompt provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Read or Join here:


33 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – On Angel Wings

  1. What I like about reading your work is that it’s like having a series on dvr…it doesn’t matter what time of the week it is I always get to see the latest episode. Well done.

    Tom

  2. I went back and read the previous stories to better appreciate this one. I knew “The Last Ride” was when I first saw Angelique… and it was funny to read my comment then.

    Such a swell idea to revisit and introduce Claire. Beautiful and sweet writing, Lisa.

  3. I love how this piggy backs on another story here. I found it interesting as I was reading “her tiny form,” I was taken aback. I imagine Angelique as larger than life, not tiny. She’s a super hero in my mind!

    • Thank you so much! Angelique appeared first in the form of a young child, perhaps in the range of 8 years old. I think she’s growing up, though I’m not entirely sure… “She’s a super hero in my mind,” made my day! 🙂

  4. “All his fear, guilt, shame, and hatred mingled with Angelique’s own sorrow over what might have been.” I’m glad I’m no empath. Imagine having to take others negative emotions into yourself. Yuck!

  5. Angelique’s mystique continues to grow. I am getting a FEELING THIS IS A GREAT WAY TO TIE SOME OF THESE TOGETHER. vERY SKILLFUL OF YOU TO WEAVE THE DIFFERENT STORIES TOGETHER.

  6. Wonderful as always. I am really loving these stories. As Tom P said, it’s like having a well loved series return every week. 🙂

  7. Dear Lisa,

    I love the character development that you work into each story. Your words flow smoothly, like water over stones in a brook and we get to see each thought and emotion clearly as the conclusion draws near. This one was particularly poignant. Enveloping wings, golden light, all above the cordoned off bus station. You are a master.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  8. Very beautiful images, Lisa. I’ll be back to read the rest – today I’m trying to read the other submissions for this week as I’m new to the game! I like Angelique already.

    • Thank you so much! Friday Fictioneers has been a great experience, both in challenging me to step out of what I normally read/write and in making me part of a wonderful community of writers. Welcome to the fun!

  9. I’m here because I wrote a story for Fictioneers this week featuring an angel named Angelique – Doug and Rochelle both mentioned your series when they commented on my piece.

    So just to let you know: I hadn’t read your work before today and my story is all my own lol. 😉

    I love your writing and you’ve clearly made an impression with your series. 🙂

Leave a Reply

