Friday Fictioneers: Eternal Light (Paranormal)

I really loved this week’s prompt. It’s a beautiful photo, bringing to mind the pain and the hope of the Hebrew people. From the menorah, encrusted in hardened wax, to the crayons, waiting to delight a young child, the photo suggests a rich heritage passed from generation to generation from ancient times until now. Thank you, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, both for providing the photo and for hosting Friday Fictioneers.

Warning: This post contains content of a religious nature. If you choose to proceed, do so with the understanding that I wrote with the intent of showing the beauty of religious symbols in light of the eternal truths they represent, as well as to show the wonder of that moment when one sees, in the darkness of death, the gloriously shining fulfillment of one’s faith. This story is not about losing faith or changing faith, but keeping faith till the very end, when the temporal fades before the eternal, when our physical eyes fail and our spiritual eyes see at last with perfect clarity.

Copyright-Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Eternal Light (100 words)

“The light has gone,” the old man mumbled. His face was turned toward the empty menorah, but his eyes, veiled by age, saw nothing but darkness. “All my life, we kept it lit, through good years and bad. It was all we had when we fled the homeland, and now after all these years, the light has gone.”

“Shh,” Angelique whispered as she placed her forefinger delicately on his lips. “Behold, eternal light.”

With a gentle hand, she turned his weathered face away from the menorah. The veil lifted, and he marveled in the full glory of unfading light.

For more Angelique – click here.

To read other stories prompted by Rochelle’s photo or to add your own, click on the link below.


 
48 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Eternal Light (Paranormal)

  1. I don’t mean to be offensive, Lisa, and perhaps I’m misreading your story, but the last paragraph seems to suggest a turning to religious beliefs other than those the old man had throughout his lifetime. We all have our own beliefs and/or dis-beliefs, but as Rochelle has said in the very guidelines to our group “This is not the time or place to promote political or religious views.” I hope I’m wrong here, but I raise this point in consideration and respect of the different and varying views of all the folks who comprise our group. Thanks!

    • Perry, thank you for your comment. I see where the misunderstanding comes from, but I did not mean to suggest a turning away from faith, or even a change in faith. On the contrary, I had hoped to show an old man who had spent a lifetime believing find, in the end, that his hope had not been in vain. The turning of his face was not to direct him away from his faith, but to turn his attention from the temporal symbol to the eternal reality. I wasn’t trying to promote a particular view – or tear down another, but to honor the beauty of faith and the moment when we see our faith fulfilled. If that violates the FF rules, I’ll unlink this, but please know I wasn’t trying to tear any group down or puff any other group up.

      • Thanks for your thoughtful reply, Lisa. I understand what you intended now and that is fine. I think the wording choice “turned his weathered face away from the menorah” is misleading, especially as it follows the words “the light has gone” and “behold your true light.” It implies a possible turning away from Judaism. You might think about changing the imagery to something more in the nature of “the light of the menorah again blazed” as his faith is rekindled. But it is your piece to write as you see fit. Thanks again for writing.

        • I want to keep “turned… away from the menorah” to emphasize the shift from this life to the next. The man must leave behind the symbols of faith he has cherished in this life for the eternal realities – because the old man is dying here, letting go of earthly life and being welcomed into something better, the greater something of which the menorah speaks. I will make some changes, though, that I hope will make it less open to misinterpretation. Thanks for your thoughtful discussion.

          • Just for the record, if it makes any difference, I personally did not get the impression that the dying man was being turned away from any faith. My understanding was simply that he was being told “Don’t worry about the menorah, welcome to eternity.”

            Also, I do not think Rochelle’s guidelines mean that we cannot have any religious content at all in our stories.

            • Thanks for the input, Abraham. It’s good to hear how a piece has been received by various people – whether their responses are positive or negative or undecided. Helps me write more clearly. (Because I HATE, HATE, HATE to be misunderstood, especially if there’s anything I can do to prevent it!) So, that’s a “thank you” to you and a “thank you” to Perry, as well! 🙂

              • Although the rules clearly state there should be no preaching of religious views, the menorah picture was posted by the host of Friday Fictioneers …IMHO I am surprised that we have not seen more preaching this week because religious content often leads to religious preaching. I thought you handle it well.
                Tom

            • If I may interject here…Lisa did post a warning. However the way I see it is that each writer has the right to share what he or she sees fit. My issue is mainly with my own blog page which has become FF Central. A few weeks back a person posted some things that others found questionable and offensive if not preachy. Religious, political or erotic content in a story may be offensive to some in which case they have the right not to read it. I apologize for any misunderstanding I’ve caused.

              • At the risk of drawing things out unnecessarily… 🙂 I posted the warning and made a few changes after Perry’s very good points about one possible interpretation. I think everything is cool, but thank you for the clarification and THANK YOU for being such a great and gracious hostess!

  2. Oh! How I love the paranormal stuff. Intrigues me. Loved how the story flowed from darkness to light and the significance of menorah to the old man. I’ll return back to your space one of these days to read more about Angelique. 🙂

  3. Being very non religiousv I don’t find this offensive at all. Seing a light when we die is totally possible from possible through physiology (Angelique probably have the skill set to make sure that’s the case). If dying like that soothes a person of belief or even if it’s the authors belief I think it’s just fine. Very good story nevertheless.

    • Thank you. As a writer of faith it’s hard to write without some of it coming through now and then, even if it isn’t specific to my faith, but I hope to write in such a way that even someone who does not believe at all can enjoy a good story. I’m glad you don’t find it offensive. Thanks for commenting!

  4. I LOVE IT!!! The physical light may not be lit…but the eternal light is forever glowing. The veil of his eyes beng remove to see the beauty in his new discovery…..LOVE IT!!! The fact that he is older and still learning new things – I appreciate.

    • Thank you, Tom. Yes, the menorah does make it difficult to avoid all religious or political content. 🙂 I understood the guidelines to mean not to write anything inflammatory (i.e. Don’t put down other’s beliefs or push your beliefs on them). If we are to leave ALL traces of religion and politics out of our writing, we might find we have little to write about anymore. (I certainly couldn’t have an angel as a main character!) I do see where Perry was coming from – how my wording could lead one to believe I HAD crossed the line. If he’s followed these comments, I hope he’s pleased with the changes I made, understands why I didn’t make the changes I didn’t make, and knows that his initial interpretation was not the one I was going for. The last thing I want is to offend readers or make trouble for our fearless leader!

      • I felt the turning away was merely a turning from the earthly to the eternal, which in his case, would be a continuation of his religion. It’s great that we can talk about this whole issues (or maybe more than one issue) and do it in a kind way. That’s increasingly rare these days unfortunately.

        janet

Leave a Reply

