The Liebster Award

This past weekend, Mari Wells nominated me for the Liebster Award.

I’m new the world of blogger awards – this is my first – and I’m honored that Mari thought of me. Mari’s big on the supernatural genre and can weave a seriously creepy tale. (Check her out here if you haven’t already).

liebster1

The rules of the Liebster Award are as follows:
I list eleven things about myself.
I answer eleven questions from Mari.
I nominate other bloggers.
I provide a set of questions for them to answer.
(As it has turned out, this is a dreadfully long post. If you can’t bear to read anymore, please skip to the end to check out the nominees!)
 

Eleven Things About Me

  1. I don’t do seafood, ever. Meat with bones is pretty iffy, as well.
  2. I do coffee, chocolate, and boneless buffalo wings like nobody’s business, but usually not all three in one sitting.
  3. I have an irrational, but thankfully not debilitating, fear of small dogs. I realize that the neighbor’s Shitzu is highly unlikely to leap into the air and lock its teeth on my jugular vein, but I can’t help feeling a little uncomfortable when it looks at me.
  4. I have a hard time turning down a dare, unless of course, you dare me to eat a plate of shrimp or pet a Shitzu.
  5. While I can’t refuse a good dare, I’m often slow to say “yes,” as I prefer to let new ideas sink in before committing to anything.
  6. I believe that, unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, texting will be the downfall of the English language. If you “lol” at this, I’ll have to rethink our friendship.
  7. I have four amazing kids. I homeschool the oldest three while keeping the youngest from pursuing a career in wall murals or counter climbing.
  8. When we married in 2000, my husband and I spent $99 for a wedding dress plus the price of our rings. Since we married during the worship service on the first Sunday of the month, our reception coincided with a church potluck. It was the least expensive and most wonderful wedding I’ve ever attended.
  9. I believe in Jesus. I also believe in being real about what it means to be human. I hope my writing honestly reflects the struggles, doubts, and joys of faith and life without being simplistic, trite, or worn-out.
  10. More often than not, you’ll find me dressed in blue jeans and a black tee shirt. I’m like the Simon Cowell of stay-at-home moms or something.
  11. In case you missed it, my name is lisa. Why I prefer not to capitalize it is a mystery to me.

Mari’s questions.

1. Do you need music to write?

No, no, no! On the contrary, with the exception of the fan I sometimes use to block out the sounds of the television a closed door and two rooms away, the slightest noise irritates me when I’m writing. For the sake of spending time with my husband, who is completely comfortable – inspired, even – by the sounds of the television AND a podcast AND his favorite iTunes playlist, I’m working on pretending not to be annoyed by a muted television. Compromise, compromise, compromise.

That said, there are songs and artists that inspire me – between writing sessions – by their relevance to my characters’ inner conflicts. Jason Gray‘s album A Way to See in the Dark led me through my first completed manuscript with a little help from U2‘s Achtung Baby.

2. Do you write with a pen and paper or computer?

A trusty Apple laptop that’s been in our family longer than some of our children.

3. Book or EReader?

I’m a sucker for a real, live, turn the page quickly so as not to interrupt the story’s flow, page. I think part of my preference for books is a desire for a physical connection that lets know where I am in the story and on the page. Besides, an eReader seems a little impersonal. I can’t imagine finishing a story and hugging an eReader to my chest, grieved to have to say farewell to my new best friends. Do people do that?

4. Do you feel like writing takes time from your life, do you resent it if it does?

I’m sad to admit it tends to work the other way. When I’m in a writing frenzy, I sometimes have to remind myself to keep things in perspective. I have a husband and four kids who absolutely must come before writing. They’ve been quite gracious about allowing me time and space to write, and I try to return the favor by scheduling my writing sessions around their needs and desires, even if it means closing my laptop in the middle of a scene that’s almost perfect. There are a lot of things in my life I’d gladly pass up for the opportunity to write, but when it comes to my family, there’s no contest. I love to write, but I love them more.

5. What are your two most favorite books you’ve ever read? (Your whole life.)

I’ll skip the obvious C.S. Lewis, Jane Austen, and Bronte sisters and say that I have a soft spot for John Knowles’s Morning in Antibes and Lloyd Alexander’s Prydain Chronicles.  Ah, but I’ve left out Daphne DuMaurier…

Do you like how I managed to mention eight beloved authors and a five-book series when you only asked for two books? Um, yeah. it’s hard to pick two.

6. What do you do as your “Me time”?

My three “me” activities are writing, exercising, and napping.

7. What are you goals for 2013?

I haven’t really considered a firm timeframe, but I hope to land an agent and publishing deal for my first novel, a YA Fantasy, complete the second and third books of that series, and fashion Angelique into a novel of her own. I highly doubt I’ll get that all of that done in one year, but that’s the long term writing goal.

On a personal level, I’d like to be able to say at the end of this year what I was thankful to say at the end of the last: We’ve come a long way in one year!

8. What is the worst fear?

Without a doubt, my greatest fears center on something awful happening to my husband or one of my children.

9. Who is your hero?

Oh, goodness. I don’t know that I’ve ever considered anyone my hero. Certainly there are people I admire and respect, but I don’t think I’d go so far as to call any of them my hero until they rescue me from a secluded tower covered in thorns and guarded by a vicious dragon. Almost thirteen years ago, a dashing young man rescued me from sorrow, but we’d probably both fall over laughing if I called him my hero, especially if I performed the appropriate swoon.

10. What do you want to do in the next 15 years?

My youngest child will be four in February, so fifteen years gives me just enough time to see the last of our four babies reach adulthood. I hope to raise them well and squeeze in a few date nights so that the husband and I aren’t looking at each other with blank stares when the last child leaves the house.

Oh, yeah. I’d also like to publish a few books.

11. What is the best/worst part of these awards in your opinion?

The best part is that someone considered my blog worth highlighting. Thank you so much, Mari, for your enthusiasm! The worst part will be figuring out whom to nominate. I may just have to select the top commenters on my blog, as a small thank you for stopping by and engaging in conversation, because – and here’s a little bonus answer – the best part of blogging is sharing the experience of writing with all of you! Thanks for making it so much fun!

My nominees are:

Steamy Girl Publishing (College friend working on a steampunk trilogy)

Lucy Blue (Neighbor who specializes in steamy vampire novels)

Ted Strutz (Fellow Friday Fictioneer, top commenter on the blog, and enthusiastic supporter of Angelique)

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields (Hostess of Friday Fictioneers and second most frequent commenter)

Abraham (Hailing all the way from Kenya, third most frequent commenter)

Finally, my questions for the nominees:

  1. What, if anything, are you currently writing?
  2. What are your favorite books?
  3. Describe a typical writing session.
  4. Who has encouraged you most in your writing endeavors?
  5. If you were casting characters for a movie of your book, who would you cast?
  6. What is the best piece of writing advice you’ve received or conceived yourself?
  7. If you could be a character from a well-known book, who would it be and why?
  8. What do you do in your spare time?
  9. Describe your strengths in three words.
  10. Share a dream, big or small.
  11. If there is one thing you would want the world to know about you, what would it be?
4 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Dear Lisa,
    While the questions are fun to answer and I’m highly honored that you would nominate me, I’m hung up on the having to nominate someone else. Not that there aren’t a few I would, it seems that those I’ve chosen in the past aren’t interested. Hope you understand and thanks again.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

Leave a Reply

