Friday Fictioneers (Double Feature) – Headline News & The Call for Strength

First, my apologies for not tending to all the comments last week. As I’m sure many of you were doing, I was preparing for the end of the world… Or not. Please know that I read and appreciated all of your comments, even if I did not respond!

Next week, I hope to be on schedule and only post one story, but I can’t promise to wait till Friday. I might not follow many rules, but at least I managed to get both of these down to 100 words!

Copyright-Scott L. Vannatter

Photo by Scott L. Vannatter

Headline News (100)

Cats were everywhere. A tabby leapt from the table and rubbed his head on the newspaper on the kitchen floor. Angelique picked up the paper and read as she walked into the living room.

“Serial killer apprehended in local Waffle House after police received a tip from a man identifying himself only as ‘Gabe.’ The Druggist of Death’s most recent victim, artist Julienne Grace, was recently found dismembered in a downtown apartment…”

A woman sobbed.

“I loved him so much.”

Angelique knelt beside the pea-green recliner and held his mother’s hand.

“My heart…”

“Hush, Marge, it will be over soon.”

Copyright Jean L. Hays

Photo by Jean L. Hays

The Call for Strength (100 words)

“Much better, dear.”

Outside, the last snowflake melted on touching the ground.

“I don’t have strength for worse.”

Angelique wished her hot cocoa could warm her.

Claire leveled her green eyes at Angelique.

“You have more strength than you know, child.”

The ring of her iPhone distracted Claire. She snatched it off the table just as Angelique read the caller’s name.

“Will?” Claire paused, listening. “Having coffee with one of my angels…” She smiled at Angelique. “She’s very good at what she does.” The smile faded. “No, I understand. Sit tight.”

Claire lowered her phone.

“To the penitentiary, Angelique. Immediately.”

To join the Friday Fictioneer fun – as a reader, writer, or both – please visit Rochelle Wisoff-Fields or click on the box below. 


46 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers (Double Feature) – Headline News & The Call for Strength

  1. I quite liked both your stories. Very well written, it’s as if the whole scene played out in front of my eyes!
    Can you please point me to the beginning of Angelique. I find the character quite interesting and I would like to go where it all started.

  2. Waiting,
    I love the concept of using the weekly prompts with an overall story and a character being the engine that drives it. I would enjoy visiting your character from the beginning and when I find some time I think I will do just that. Well done. Great Dialogue.

    Tom

  3. On the one hand, I know I’m failing to make sense of parts of the story because I showed up in the middle of it. But I like what I can understand – there’s clearly an interesting situation and characters here. I’ll have to check back and read the earlier installments!

    • I can see how starting in the middle could be very confusing! I hope things will clear up – and if anything DOESN’T make sense, do let me know. I have an overall outline in my head of where the story goes and what connections need to be made along the way, and I’d like to know if anything is fuzzy. There will be blank spaces – since I only have 100 words per week – but yeah… Please let me know if anything doesn’t make sense or just doesn’t work in general. Thanks for commenting!

  4. Ooh, two ‘Angeliques’ this time! How fun. Loved ‘the Druggist of Death’… seems Gabe doesn’t like anyone hastening up the customers. And now we have Claire… the dispacher?… nice to see she’s using Siri. Is Angelique helping the Druggist on his way??? Let’s hope.

  5. Hi Parul,
    I’m playing catch-up. Virus attack in the middle of reading last week. Sorry. I like this new angel theme of yours, and you can do so much with it. Can’t imagine where it wouldn’t apply. Homes, hopspitals, prisons, wherever the human heart is longing for comfort. Great all-season premise. Wishing you a great 2013! Ron

  6. it’s fun to see you develop Angelique in these 100 word pieces. It’s quite a challenge ( I tried in some of mine ) but you really seem up to the task. Looking forward to more.

  7. Dear WFAN,

    Angelique not only has wings, her stories have legs, and, to judge from my (and others) fascination with her ‘activities’ they have what the industry refers to as a ‘long tail’. Very well done and one of the ones I look forward to visiting each Friday. Thaks for giving me some incentive to hang around.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Oh, wow, Doug. Thank you so much for this comment. I honestly don’t think Angelique could have survived without the encouragement of the Friday Fictioneers. I am truly amazed by the friends she has out there, and I can’t wait to tell her story in full. A million thank you’s to all of you!

Leave a Reply

