Friday Fictioneers – The Art of Evil

 

I haven’t been doing the whole “Thirty Days of Thankfulness” thing, but if I had, Friday Fictioneers would definitely make my list. Thank you to everyone who has read, commented, and encouraged me as I figure out this Angelique girl! I’ve enjoyed reading your stories and look forward to many more!

I wish you all a very happy Thanksgiving Day!

Photo Copyright Joyce Johnson

The Art of Evil (100 words)

In the crowded art gallery, they looked like father and daughter out for a cultural experience.

“Why did you show me this?” Angelique asked, shivering beneath the bronze sneer. “He’s hideous.”

“You must know,” Gabe said. “There are those who delight in evil, who hunger for the power released in death, and who boast of deeds done in darkness. It is not your job to stop them.”

Angelique lifted her wide blue eyes to the face on the wall.

“Where is he pointing?” she asked.

“To his next victim,” Gabe said, his voice heavy with grief. “And your next assignment.”

33 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Art of Evil

  1. i’m a little confused. he says “it’s not your job to stop them.” but then he says the hand is pointing at her next assignment, who is also the next victim. that means she’s either “assigned” to save the person or to do something with them after they are dead. if it’s to save them, then it IS her job to stop them. so then i guess she’s not assigned to save them. so then what’s she assigned to do? study the dead?

    • Yes, Sandra, a big part of Angeliqe’s job is to make it easier for the dying. The theme can take some dark turns – because death pretty much stinks – but my hope with Angelique is to explore the depth of human emotion, the grace of God, and other mysteries surrounding the dying process in a way that is ultimately uplifting. I’m so glad you’ve enjoyed the exploration thus far!

  2. I’ve had the sense all along that Angelique is an usher or angel of death. Loved “it’s not your job to stop them”…I could almost feel her helplessness and compassion. Maybe I’m reading more into it.
    My question is the POV in the story. If it’s from Angelique’s point of view we don’t need “blue eyes” because unless she’s looking into a mirror she wouldn’t see them.
    Just a thought.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    • See, that’s why her wide blue eyes show up now and then… It’s a violation of the “don’t show anything the POV character can’t see,” but I haven’t quite figured out how to portray Angelique’s innocent appearance (as seen in those wide blue eyes) without stepping out of her POV. So… long story short, I’m still trying to figure out how hard and fast the POV rules are… and how to work within them, if they are non-negotiable. I’ve considered doing this as a sort of “Angelique File,” in which an outside observer is reporting on her job performance, but that’s probably more analysis than anyone needs or wants! 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement, Ted!

    • I can see that – the difficulty of stepping back and letting events unfold. I think, too, that Gabriel feels a bit parental in his words to Angelique. As a mother, there are truths from which I would love to shield my children, but know that I must not, because shielding a child does not nullify the reality they will face sooner or later. Part of Angelique’s pain as she develops will be that death is cruel, and there is nothing she can do to prevent it. She may soften it, but she cannot stop it. Thanks for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

