Friday Fictioneers – Kiss Me, Child

I’m stepping out in faith today, hoping Rochelle meant it when she said no one would flog me if I exceeded the 100 word limit. (This is at 132). For more Friday Fictioneers, see here. For glimpses of Angelique from previous weeks, click here.

Looking forward to reading everyone else’s stories!

This week’s photo comes from Sean Fallon:

Kiss Me, Child

Pickle jars everywhere, full of batteries, pins, butterscotches. Beneath the peculiar odor of the aged, Angelique relished the fragrance of life well spent.

People crowded round the bed, obscuring its occupant from Angelique’s view. She inched closer and peeked between two of them.

“There you are, sweet girl.” The old woman’s eyes remained closed, her wrinkled lips barely parted. “I’ve been waiting for you. Come kiss me. Take a butterscotch on your way out, if you like.”

No one noticed as Angelique crawled onto the bed and kneeled beside the woman’s head. Leaning over, Angelique touched her lips to the woman’s. Fire and ice swirled in her spirit as the family lifted their voices in quiet song.

T’was Grace that brought us safe thus far…
and Grace will lead us home.

36 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Kiss Me, Child

    • I wrote mine, then read yours. When I reread mine, I wondered if maybe the old woman in my story had a story for each of the batteries. Of course, I hadn’t suspected that when I wrote it, but one never knows… maybe she wasn’t just a crazy old collector of stuff!

    • Thank you for your comment. I wanted to show that death is not always a devastating event – that peace and even joy can accompany a person’s passing. As for butterscotch candies, I’ve known several older people who kept a jar of candy (particularly Werther’s Originals) for young visitors, so it seemed fitting. Glad you liked it!

    • Oh, thank you so much! This was one piece I felt I couldn’t whittle down without losing something major. I’m glad I won’t be kicked out of the Fictioneers! You are all so kind and encouraging!

  1. “There you are, sweet girl.” The old woman’s eyes remained closed, her wrinkled lips barely parted. “I’ve been waiting for you….”You’ve really captured the strong bond between Angelique and her grandmother–very nice.

    • Ah, you must not have been properly introduced to Angelique! :)Angelique has been the subject of several of these stories. You can get to know her better if you look under Friday Fictioneers at the top of my page. There is a bond between these two, but the old lady isn’t Angelique’s grandmother.

  2. That’s just beautiful, Waiting. The butterscotches are SO familiar! 🙂 I bet you would enjoy the book I’m reading right now, Walter Wangerin’s *Naomi and Her Daughters.* It’s rich as your little piece here is, with many layers of meaning and resonances back to eternal things.

    • Cindy, your comment is absolutely uplifting… Thank you!

      I’ll have to check out Naomi and Her Daughters, along with Dorothy Sayers… Sayers’s name comes up a lot in homeschooling circles. I’ve been meaning to read her for a long time, and have enjoyed browsing through your posts on Mind of the Maker. My reading list keeps getting longer and longer and longer!

    • Thank you so much, Doug. I am pleased and honored to hear you speak so highly of Angelique. Someday, when I am through with two to three to four other novels stuck in my head and waiting to be written, I may have to weave Angelique into a novel of her own.

Leave a Reply

