Friday Fictioneers – The Letter

Please forgive the barrage of Friday Fictioneer posts. I promise, I’ll be on schedule starting this Friday! The thing is, I loved this photo by Raina Ng and couldn’t resist placing Angelique in that beautiful scene.

The Letter

“Ahem.”

Thirty and gorgeous, the woman turned from the cabinet, cereal in hand.

“I’m not ready.”

“That’s why I’m here.” Angelique slid the stationery pad across the table.

“No.”

Angelique nodded. The woman sank into a chair.

“What do I say?”

“You already know.” Angelique closed her eyes and prayed for the woman’s courage. When her eyes opened, she was alone. Ornate cursive covered the pad’s top page.

She waited an hour. From time to time, a breeze from the open window swayed the paper lanterns hanging from the ceiling. At 7:28, an announcer cut into Springsteen’s Lonesome Day.

“Fatal crash on I-95. Use alternate route.”

5 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Letter

    • Good! I’ve had to play around with exactly who she is, what’s she’s doing, and why… but I think it’s coming together, in my head, if not in the writing. It’s hard to know how much to give away. I want her to be mysterious, without being bizarre, and to reveal her story very gradually. It’s tough, though, since I don’t know exactly where she is going in the end. (No pun intended!)

  1. It is very mysterious and I love the mysteries. That’s a great idea to use the same character for each photo prompt. I’m looking forward to the next one.

Leave a Reply

